Honors and Awards

  1. Co-recipient (with Jeffrey G. Williamson), the Economic History Association’s biennial Gallman-Parker Prize for Lifetime Contribution to Data Set Creation, September 2019.

  2. The Economic History Association created and funded The Lindert-Williamson Prize for an outstanding book in global, African, Asian, Australian, and/or South American economic history, 2019.

  3. 5th Angus Maddison Development Lecture, OECD, Paris, 3 October 2017.

  4. Several other keynote lectures since 2010.

  5. Jonathan Hughes Prize for Excellence in Teaching Economic History, awarded by the Economic History Association, 2007.

  6. Two book prizes for Growing Public: (1) The 2005 Allan Sharlin Prize, for the Best Book in Social Science History in 2004, awarded by the Social Science History Association; and (2) the Gyorgy Ranki Prize for the Best Book in European Economic History 2003 and 2004 (for Growing Public), awarded by the Economic History Association.

  7. Sir John Hicks Lecture, Oxford, 13 May 2005.

  8. President of the Economic History Association, 2001-2002.

  9. UC Davis Prize for Undergraduate Teaching and Scholarly Achievement, 1999.

  10. Vice-President of the Economic History Association for 1996-1997.

  11. UC Davis, Academic Senate, Distinguished Teaching Award, 1995.

  12. Cliometrics Society “Can” Award, 1992-1993.  [It’s like an Oscar.]

Comments are closed.